readathons · sapphic books

My (All Sapphic) Reading Rush TBR!

Hello, friends! If you weren’t aware, Booktubeathon is now called The Reading Rush and it is happening next week! I participated in Booktubeathon last year and thought it was a whole bunch of fun, so I knew I wanted to participate again this year. The challenges this year were somewhat difficult on their own, but I added an extra challenge for myself by making myself read only sapphic books. I am wanting to read more sapphic books in general to conquer my fears of them, but I am also planning a sapphic readathon in September (!!!) with Brittany and I want to make sure I can have some rec posts up before then.

Anyways, here are the books I have chosen for each of the Reading Rush challenges.

Challenge I: Read a book with purple on the cover

Book I: Annie on My Mind by Nancy Garden

aomm

I know that this book cover isn’t like, purple purple, but I think it is close enough, you know? I also just really want to read this book, it is like, on so many banned book lists and I feel like it is a classic I need to read. I have also seen people say that it has great quotes and we all know how much I love good quotes, so I am all in.

Challenge II: Read a book in the same spot the entire time

Book II: The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James by Ashley Herring Blake

tmhossj

This book sounds heartbreaking and amazing and people whose reviews I trust deeply have given this five stars so I am ready. I chose it for the one spot challenge just because it is a middle grade so hopefully it won’t take me too too long. I am also hoping this challenge doesn’t mean “read in one sitting” because I am far to antsy for all of that. Anyways, I will probably read this in my bed since that is where I do most of my reading and also I don’t want to choose anywhere downstairs because the kids my mom babysit make reading and just thinking impossible sometimes.

Challenge III: Read a book you meant to read last year

Book III: Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour

elty

I have had this book on so many TBRs at this point that it isn’t funny. Someone come make me read this book already. I think I will enjoy it. I don’t think it is going to be life changing or anything, but I really do think I will love it. I mean, it’s a wlw summer contemporary, it basically screams ‘Arin should read this’ but has Arin read it yet? No. Has it sat on my shelves for literally years? Yes. Make me read this book next week. Someone harass me into doing it, you have my full permission.

Challenge IV: Read an author’s first book

Book IV: If You Could Be Mine by Sara Farizan

iycbm

I have a physical copy of Sara Farizan’s other book and I really think I will enjoy it and I hope I will enjoy this one as well. The reviews and ratings of it aren’t the best, but the synopsis sounds like it will be hard hitting so we’ll see I guess.

Challenge V & VII: Read a book with a non-human main character & Read and watch a book to movie* adaptation

Book V: Carmilla by Kim Turrisi

*a web series is the same as a movie right? and it’s okay if the book is technically adapted from the web series?

Okay, listen, this may seem like I am grasping at straws but that is because I kind of am. The only sapphic book to movie adaptation I can think of is The Miseducation of Cameron Post and I reread it last month and I don’t need to fall back into my hole of rewatching the movie every night, so that option was out. I could’ve/should’ve/will eventually look to see if there are any other sapphic book to movie adaptations, but I really want to watch Carmilla and this is my perfect excuse. Also, I want to commend myself for my self control because my want to watch it has increased by a whole bunch lately but I have managed to save it for this readathon.

Challenge VI: Pick a book that has five or more words in the title

Book VI: Tell Me How You Really Feel by Aminah Mae Safi

tmhyrf

This cover makes me so happy!! And I really think this book will make me so happy!! I have seen so many people saying this is like Gilmore Girls but where Rory and Paris get together. That is my dream book in a sentence. I feel kind of fake that I didn’t read this the week it came out, but I hope that when I read it (make that be next week or someone yell at me) I will love it and never shut up about it to make up for it. Wow, I just can’t get over this cover. Anyways I like, really really want to read this and there is a good chance it’ll be my first read of the readathon.

Bonus Challenge: Read seven books!

Book VII: Style by Chelsea M. Cameron

stylecmc

I want to read this book so badly, I have almost started it so many times but I have been trying to save it for this readathon because I know I will read it fast and since I’m trying to read seven books in a week, that may definitely be necessary. I have talked about this book before, but reviewers say it is basically just every high school trope but f/f and that is all they needed to tell me. Also, I l o v e this cover. I don’t know why, but I love it so much. If Tell Me How You Really Feel isn’t my first book of the week, this one will be.

 

Well, those are the books I want to read next week! If you are participating in this readathon and have a profile on the website, you can friend me here! That way we can keep up with each others reading progress and someone can yell at me if I don’t read Everything Leads to You!

What about you guys, are you participating in this readathon? If so, what are you going to read? Have you read any of these books? Let’s chat in the comments!

6 thoughts on “My (All Sapphic) Reading Rush TBR!

  1. mad props to you for making your entire tbr sapphic! those people on twitter complaining about “the lack of f/f books” are quaking. I have only read Everything Leads to You from this list, and I can confidently say that you’re right in thinking that it’s definitely not life changing. which isn’t a bad thing! It was just a really fluffy f/f summer romance book, and I think going into it knowing that is best. I’m also so excited for Tell Me How You Really Feel despite hearing of some middling reviews, because it’s just so gay–the cover, the story, everything! I will also never shut up about how to cover features PoC girls who very clearly are interested in each other

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Caitlin!! I have done my best to only read sapphic books this week and it has honestly been a lot of fun. Everything Leads to You was very fluffy and I definitely enjoyed it. I am only about nine pages into Tell Me How You Really Feel but I think I already love it – it has the potential to be so so good and I am very into it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment