random posts

400 Followers Q&A: Let’s Talk About Star Wars, Avatar, and More!

Hi, friends!! I mentioned this in my wrap up, but last month I hit 400 followers? This is so wild to think about because I haven’t been consistent on here at all this year and when I have it’s just been a hot mess of content, but I cannot thank each and everyone of you enough for all of the love and support you have shown me and my little corner of the internet ❤

I went on my twitter and instagram to ask for any questions you guys may have about me or my blog or my interests or whatever, and I actually got a shocking amount of questions, so let’s jump right in!

Erin at Reading On A Star asked:

What’s your favorite post? 

This is a hard one for me because I have had so much fun creating so many different posts, but I think that my favorite is one of these:

(my best friend!!!) Brianna at bthebookworm asked:

What are some of my favorite sapphic books?

This may come as a shock to all, but my favorite sapphic book is without a doubt The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth. That being said, however, I also love Her Royal Highness by Rachel Hawkins, Tell Me How You Really Feel by Animah Mae Safi, and The Falling in Love Montage by Ciara Smyth with my entire heart.

Who are some fictional characters I love? 

jinora

So many, there are literally so many, but the first one to pop into my head was Jinora from Legend of Korra, I love my little spiritual airbender so much. I also deeply love Percy Jackson, Sokka, Annabeth Chase, Nick Merrick, Princess Leia, Rey, and like so many more that I could keep naming for hours.

Five random facts about myself? 

Okay so these are hard bc I am a very boring person but:

  • I prefer lakes over beaches.
  • I have an auditory processing disorder that makes it impossible for me to filter out background noises
  • I have a little brother who is taller than me
  • I have a dog named Dozer and a fish named Mark
  • I used to have two turkeys named Tommy and Tyler

What books could I reread forever and never get tired of?

For the second time in this post, I will be mentioning The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth. This isn’t a light or fun book by any means, but I could reread Cam and her story a hundred times and not tire of it. As for these next two, I have reread both The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan and Storm by Brigid Kemmerer at least six times each and I still want to reread them so that seems like a pretty good answer for this post.

What is something that you’re proud of accomplishing? 

There are a lot of things I am proud of accomplishing, but the most recent one is finally making myself make the appointments and go through the process to actually get accurate mental health related diagnoses and then see a doctor to get on some antidepressants that will actually work to help me more than the ones I was on before.

What are some things that make me happy? 

There are actually a lot of things that make me happy, but here is a short list:

  • all of the wonderful doggos in my life
  • watching ATLA and LOK
  • hanging out with friends
  • reading
  • curling up in my bed at the end of the day and listening to a good audiobook

Which parts of history do I find most interesting to learn about? 

So, there are a lot of answers to this question, but I find any time dealing with the Roman or Greek civilizations really interesting and also anything dealing with queer history.

What are some of my favorite songs?

Ahhhh this is such a hard question so I am just going to say the first ones that come to my mind:

  • August by Taylor Swift
  • Illicit Affairs by Taylor Swift
  • Seven by Taylor Swift
  • Doom Days by Bastille
  • Zero to Hero from Hercules

What do I love about Avatar: The Last Airbender? 

Ah okay, once again, so many things so I will just make a list:

  • how fun it is? it is just so fun and it makes me laugh a lot and it is so nice to just come home at the end of a workday and watch an episode or five
  • the characters. it is so hard to decide who is my favorite because I love them all so much, they all deserve the world.
  • the bending itself is just like so cool? I wish I could do literally anything cool like them
  • the friendship between the gaang, iconic, I love them all

Are there any books I haven’t read yet that I predict will be five stars? 

cwar

I actually wrote a whole post on this a while ago and the only book from that that I still haven’t read is Crier’s War by Nina Varela! Hopefully I will get to this soon so I can follow up on that post from months and months ago, but we’ll see.

Kait at sixcrowsbooks asked:

What bookish world would I choose to live in, if given the chance? 

If I am being perfectly honest, I just want to live in the timeline from Casey McQuinston’s Red, White & Royal Blue. There are many reasons for wanting to be in that timeline but I will say that my main one is to finally escape COVID-19.

Do I speak more than one language? If so, which ones? If not, which one(s) would I want to learn? 

I speak English and that is about it. I know enough Latin that if anyone could actually converse in it these days I could hold a decent conversation but that doesn’t really happen much so. I would really like to learn Spanish and Russian if I had the chance and the time as those are the most common other languages spoken where I live and I have been asked to translate Spanish at the school I work at before only to have to say that I don’t speak it.

Favorite snack or drink to have while reading?

This is a hard one because I honestly don’t really snack when reading because I have issues with touching anything that is not food while eating, but for drinks, I am really big on Mountain Dew, English breakfast tea, watermelon juice, and any pretty much any type of lemonade.

What’s a book or series that gives me nostalgia? 

I’ve already mentioned both of these in this post, but Percy Jackson makes me nostalgic for middle school and reading the entire series in the span of a week only to continue to reread them like once a year for the next five years. Elementals makes me nostalgic for the end of middle school and the summer between my freshman and sophomore years, it just reminds me of the good times of my school career before things got Bad™ and I was getting sent home from school twice a month for anxiety attacks.

Brittany at Brittany the Book Guru asked:

Books that I didn’t give five stars but that I still highly recommend?

I feel like the only thing I really recommend on here are sapphic books and as those are so important to me I am not surprised, but I thought I would take this question as a moment to recommend some four star middle grade reads I absolutely loved:

Favorite thing about working with kids? 

I love so many things about working with kids, but I think that my favorite would have to be forming lasting relationships with them and getting to where they know they can trust me and tell me things and talk them out. When I was working after school I would tell the kids that if they ever needed a moment they could ask to go talk to me outside and I had a bunch of kids do this just to talk about things that were going on at school or at home and I loved knowing that those kids knew they had someone to talk to.

What made me interested in studying history? 

History has always been my favorite subject. I will be honest in saying that when I was younger this was because I was really good at memorizing things and that was all the subject was in elementary school, but now that I am older I love learning more about the past to see how we have gotten to where we are now and to see patterns in what has occurred and what is occuring.

Georgia at thefictionfolio asked:

Since I have gotten super into star wars over the last year or so, so which star wars movie is my favourite? Or if you’re feeling up for it, maybe I could rank them all?

Okay, so, A New Hope is my favorite Star Wars movie hands down. I just love it so so much and I honestly cannot explain why. I have tried to figure out my rankings of all of the movies against each other and I cannot, so here are my rankings by series.

  • Prequel
    • Revenge of the Sith
    • The Phantom Menace
    • Attack of the Clones
  • Original
    • A New Hope
    • Return of the Jedi
    • Empire Strikes Back
  • Sequel
    • The Force Awakens
    • The Last Jedi
    • Rise of Skywalker

Kerys at The Everlasting Library asked:

What shows/movies are my favorite? 

So, I will once again make lists because apparently I like lists.

Shows:

  • Avatar: The Last Airbender
  • Legend of Korra
  • One Day at a Time
  • Derry Girls
  • Gilmore Girls

Movies

  • Hercules
  • Mamma Mia
  • Anything Star Wars
  • Dead Poets Society

Joss at theonewhoreadit asked:

Who is my favorite character in Avatar: The Last Airbender? 

azula

This was such a hard question that I literally thought about it for a week, but I think that I have to go with Azula. Honorable mentions go to Sokka, Uncle Iroh, Zuko, and Aang. I honestly love them all though.

Jules at One More Word asked:

What is my favorite type of post to write and why? 

Without a doubt, my favorite posts to write (and read!) are wrap ups! I don’t really know why other than I really like reflecting on the past months and being able to pinpoint what happened that I want to share with others and remember whenever I look back at that month’s wrap up.

and last but certainly not least, Cierra at Cierra’s Cynosure asked:

What is the best and hardest part about book blogging? 

The best part of book blogging is the community and getting to talk to other people about books and see what all they are loving, it is just so fun and welcoming. The hardest part would probably be keeping up the motivation. Blogging takes a lot of time and effort (this post has taken me probably three hours to type up) and as someone who suffers from semi-frequent depressive episodes, it can be a lot.

Okay, so, now that I have rambled for about 2k words, we are finally done. Thank you guys once again for your support and questions, I hope you enjoyed learning a little more about me! I will hopefully see you soon, maybe with a vacation reading log!

2 thoughts on “400 Followers Q&A: Let’s Talk About Star Wars, Avatar, and More!

  1. It’s nice to get to know more about you! OOh I need to see the playlist you made for PJ’s birthday! And yay for making the appointments that you need, this is a really brave step. Your dogs are soooo cute! folkore is amazing and I love Doom Days and Zero to Hero too! I’m sorry my question made you think about it for a week XD. My favorite character is hands down Zuko. Azula is a fantastic firebender but I don’t really like her (mostly because she hurts Zuko… I am biased). Iroh, Suki and Sokka are some other favorites of mine. I HAVE to start watching The Legend of Korra! OK I am going to stop rambling about ATLA. Great post!

    Like

Leave a comment